Georgia DUI Penalties:
First Offense in Five Years
Michael Mullis, Attorney at Law, The DUI Guy
Georgia DUI Lawyer 1-229-245-0064
Valdosta, Homerville, Nashville, Tifton Georgia
If this is your first offense within a ten year period, the following fines, probation/jail time, and community service applies:
$300.00 -$1000.00 plus any statutory surcharges (typically 15-25%).
10 days to 12 months, all except for 24 hours may be suspended, stayed or probated.
Theoretically, if your blood alcohol level is less than 0.08 grams %, you do not even have to do the 24 hours. Practically speaking, don't count on it. Moreover, on all DUI cases made on or after May 1, 1999, if you plead guilty or are convicted of DUI, you must be placed on twelve months probation less any jail time received.
The law requires a minimum of 40 hours of community service unless you are under 21 years of age in which case you must do at least 20 hours. The actual time is set by the Court.
Insofar as your driver's license, if this is your first offense within a five year period you will lose your license as follows:
If you took the State test and are 21 or over, your license will be suspended for one year. You will be able to get your license back at the end of 120* days if you have completed an alcohol/drug risk reduction course (DUI school) and paid the appropriate reinstatement fee. During those 120 days, you will be able to get a limited driving permit.
If you are under 21, your license will be revoked for either 6 months (under 0.08 blood alcohol level) or 12 months (0.08 or higher).
Keep in mind that if you have an administrative license suspension in effect, that could affect if and when you can drive.
*If you are convicted of a DUI charge that involves drugs, your Georgia driver's license or privilege to drive in Georgia will be suspended for up to one year.. No limited driving permit is allowed.
You must complete DUI School and might have to complete or be enrolled in other programs in order to have your driver's license or privilege to drive in Georgia reinstated.
Return to Georgia DUI Law Page
you are waiting to go to court on your DUI case, you
need to fill out my
and Arrest | ALS
Suspension | After
the Arrest | Georgia
DUI Law Drivers
Rights | Questionnaire
| Research Contact
First | Ten
Mistakes | Police
Mistakes | Case
Tips | Fees