Georgia DUI Penalties:
Michael Mullis, Attorney at Law, The DUI Guy
Georgia DUI Lawyer 1-229-245-0064
Valdosta, Tifton, Thomasville, Quitman Georgia
If this is your second offense within a ten year period, the following fines, probation/jail time, and community service applies:
$600-$1000 plus any statutory surcharges.
90 days to 12 months, all except three days of which may be suspended, stayed, or probated. As with a first DUI within a five year period you must do twelve months probation less any jail time.
The minimum community service is thirty days (240 hours).
Insofar as your driver's license for all drivers, if this is your second offense within a five year period you will lose your license as follows:
The driver's license of anyone convicted of a second DUI within a five year period will be suspended for eighteen months. After serving 120 days of a hard suspension, if the judge allows it, you can have an ignition interlock limited permit. This permit is good for 12 months, after which a regular limited permit is available for 2 months. Then you can have full reinstatement.
Keep in mind that if you violate the terms of your ignition interlock limited permit or are convicted of any traffic violation, your limited permit will be revoked.
Under the current law, for a second or subsequent conviction within a five year period, an ignition interlock device must be installed on all vehicles registered to the offender and/or any other vehicle driven by the offender.
Upon conviction, the license plates of all vehicles registered to the offender will be confiscated. No new plates will be issued to the offender until such time as he/she obtains a limited permit or full reinstatement of driving privileges. Under certain conditions, a hardship license plate is available to a co-owner of the vehicle or to family members.
Your photograph, name and address,
as well as the date, time, place of arrest will be published in your local
newspaper. You will be charged $25.00 for this notice.
You must complete DUI School and might have to complete other programs in order to have your driver's license or privilege to drive in Georgia reinstated.
Return to Georgia DUI Law Page
you are waiting to go to court on your DUI case, you
need to fill out my
and Arrest | ALS
Suspension | After
the Arrest | Georgia
DUI Law Drivers
Rights | Questionnaire
| Research Contact
First | Ten
Mistakes | Police
Mistakes | Case
Tips | Fees